top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarmen Lopez-Fernandez

Textures

Updated: May 7, 2021

The whole thing about making a collection and not separate individual designs is that you (the designer) want to convey something that is cohesive in the grand scheme. A story, a mood, an idea, virtually anything you (the designer) want. Okay, that is definitely obvious, so I don’t want to act like I know everything when I am literally just stating the basics. The point I am trying to make is that while making this collection I am thinking so carefully about every little detail. I started with my big brainstorm idea and I so badly want my idea to be conveyed that whatever I am working on for this collection I am constantly making sure it ties back to the original idea I had. At first, I didn’t see an issue with this. I thought to myself “That’s what I’m supposed to do. I have to stick to my plan. Right?” Like, no. When it came to the point where I wouldn’t write ideas down because I was so focused on being tied down to what I wanted in my head I suddenly realized that I was missing the WHOLE point. This is MY collection okay. My designs. My ideas. My story. It can evolve into whatever I want it to be, so I definitely had to remind myself that my idea doesn‘t have to and probably isn’t supposed to be a carbon copy of my original thought. The process and the “making” of this is going to show how I personalized, focused, and specified my ideas. Enough about the rant here is the main idea: With texture, I have tried to explore ideas while still maintaining some cohesiveness with the main idea I want to portray.

When I say texture I do not mean solely fabrics. Yes, fabrics are important, but like when I was creating my mood board it has to start with visual research.

Visual research is going to be the key to exploring innovative ideas that you could then possibly translate onto your designs.

THEN you say “How can you ultimately create that effect with fabric?”

Take pictures of textures that you find interesting on the street, rip out magazine pages, photocopy things, etc. Take the images of real-life physical things that have inspired you to pull out textures. Whether it's the texture of grass, or water, or a cool rock, anything that gets you thinking USE IT. Write down anything and everything.

If you see a cool snake that doesn’t mean the only option to replicate that texture is to take real snakeskin fabric. Use beads to replicate the pattern, patches, layering, stitching. Just make sure to get all your ideas down. As you progress with your brainstorm certain ideas will repeat or start to stand out. Take your vague inspo, and with each step, you will get more specific.

In my collection, I wanted to play with the idea of manufactured “man-made” vs. everything organic and natural. While I did research on the texture I got into deeper and specified ideas where I figured out that I also wanted to address the discrepancies and similarities in both extremes.

Originally in my first brainstorm, I used cutouts from magazines that were leftover from my mood board. I focused on pulling from structured patterns and uniformity, and later on, was inspired by the humanization, or errors, of these “perfect” structures. I jotted down design ideas and possibilities that I thought of when analyzing the images I had chosen.

I furthered my analysis on the inspiration I pulled from ”manufacturing”, but this time used pictures I had taken while on a walk around my neighborhood. You can start to see how some of the same ideas would start reoccurring as well as new ones.


Of course, the focus of my collection deals with a great deal of contrast SO on that same walk I took pictures of the “organic” and “natural” extreme.

The standout textures you are most drawn to you can later work into your collections arcs and developments. This means the design details you want to focus on that will be featured throughout different pieces. I am currently obsessed with the quilting possibility, layering, patches, visible stitches, and repeated patterns with "cracks" or errors.

Still have a LONG way to go but it's my first one ever so I'm being a little bit of a perfectionist.

Hope this made sense or helped possibly!


xoxo,

Carmen (a 16-year-old fashion designer?)

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page